• Log in |
  • Brookings Winter Calf Show

    Tuesday, December 30th

    For more information: Brookings 2014 Winter Calf Show Poster

    Brookings 2014 Winter Calf Show entry form

    Brookings Winter Calf Show 2014 rules and regs



    Davison County Winter Beef Show

    December 30th & 31st – Mitchell SD

    Davison County Winter Beef Show

    2014 Davison County Winter Beef Show Entry Form

    Sioux Empire Farm Show

    Tuesday, January 27, 2015

    W.H. Lyon Fairgrounds, Sioux Falls

    For more information: Youth Invitational Calf Show entry form 2015

    November Newsletter 2014

    November newsletter 2014

    2015 4-H international Exchange Outbound Program

    The information for the 2015 4-H international Exchange Outbound Programs has recently been released.  Attached are the flyers for the summer month long exchange programs.  The flyers contain information about dates and costs.  A maximum of 4 scholarships of up to $1,500 each are available for those applicants that are selected.  If there are more qualified applicants, the funds may be pro-rated accordingly.


    Once the applications are received, we will schedule an interview process with those candidates.  That will probably be in early December, 2014.


    South Dakota will be also receiving inbound delegates from Japan, Norway and possibly Argentina in the summer of 2015.  Those are also month long exchanges, generally in July and/or August.  The two basic requirements for hosting are to have a child in the home of the same gender and within two years of age.  Japanese delegates range between 12 – 16 years, while those from Norway and Argentina tend to be 15 – 18 years old.  I will know who we are hosting in March of 2015.

    Amber Lounsbery, former 4-H advisor, most recently in Lincoln County, will be taking the lead in coordinating the exchanges for 2015.  While we are in the transition period, please continue to use my contact information.

     I have taken on more responsibility with the National IFYE Program (formerly known as the “International 4-H Youth Exchange) as the IFYE National Program Director.  My responsibilities include increasing the number of outbound delegates, host countries and participating states. 

     Since the program is designed for young adults, age 19 and over, the exchange does not fall within 4-H age guidelines, and thus we do not have 4-H name or emblem authorization.  

     Our name was shortened to IFYE (pronounced ‘ iffy ‘) several years ago.  The exchange program focuses on cultural immersion by living with multiple host families in other countries.  We emphasize a 6 month exchange experience.  This may be something that some of your 4-H alumni may be interested in pursuing.  My six months of living with 7 different host families in West Germany as a 20-something young adult certainly was of immeasurable benefit.  

     Though this program is not affiliated with 4-H, we have found former 4-H members that have gained leadership and critical thinking skills through their 4-H experiences are often great candidates for this exchange program.  National and state scholarships are available for those young adults as well.  Exchanges generally begin in June and end in December.  I have attached a brochure on that IFYE program as well.

    2015 4-H Costa Rica Exchange Flier

    2015 4-H Finland Exchange Flier

    2015 4-H Japan Exchange Flier

    2015 4-H OB Delegate Application (1)

    IFYE Brochure_090914 BD Final


    12 Yankton County 4-H members score at Fall State 4-H Shot

    MITCHELL — The Fall State 4-H Shot witnessed a 40 percent increase in participation September 12-13, making it the largest Shotgun and Muzzleloading competition for South Dakota 4-H to date.

    Nearly 250 youth registered for the weekend’s events, which included muzzleloading, trap, skeet and sporting clays. Saturday shooters dealt with a variety of weather conditions, especially in the afternoon, when winds gusted to 30 mph. The targets were entertaining to watch, but very unpredictable. Sunday was clear and calm, with only the final skeet flights in danger of weather concerns.

    Overall, 28,000 shots were successfully fired over the weekend, overseen by certified coaches and the fabulous volunteer staff at the Mitchell Gun Club.

    To view the Yankton County Results click here.

    Yankton County 4-H member takes top honors at State 4-H Shoot

    MITCHELL—Last weekend, one Yankton County 4-H member received first place because of his shotgun shooting skills.

    Nathan List was awarded first place in the senior division of sporting clays at the State 4-H Shoot in Mitchell. He competed against 249 other 4-H members from across South Dakota in this event, which is similar to hunting live birds.

    “Rather than having clay birds thrown from standardized distances and angles as with skeet or trap, sporting clays courses are designed to simulate the hunting of ducks, pheasants, other upland birds, and even rabbits,” according to the National Sporting Clays Association website.

    Trap and skeet divisions also competed at the State 4-H Shoots.

    “We were proud to watch the Yankton County 4-H Shooting Sports team in action,” 4-H club leader Randy Hummel said. “The team all shot very well and had a great time at the event.”

    Participation in the State 4-H Shoot and other competitions is only possible because of donations and sponsorships the club receives, Hummel added.

    The South Dakota National Wild Turkey Federation awarded the Yankton County 4-H Shooting Sports Club $1,000 from the Hunting Heritage Super Fund.

    “We owe them a thank you,” Hummel said. “These funds are used to help educate and encourage shooting safety, accuracy, and interest in different shooting disciplines, as well as hunting.”

    In the 4-H Shooting Sports Project, safety and decision-making skills are emphasized while 4-H’ers learn proper shooting technique with various kinds of guns and with archery.

    For more information about the Yankton County Shooting Sports 4-H Club, contact the Yankton County 4-H Office at 605-665-3387.

    2014 Yankton 4H Shooting Sports Team and Coaches 2014 Yankton 4H Shooting Sports Team Backs of Shooting Shirts 2014 Dad scoring son Sept. 2014 Garet shooting Sept. 2014 guns on tree Sept 2014 Nate crushes one Sept. 2014 Nathan List-first place senior sporting clays Nathan List-Shooting

    September 2014 Newsletter

    The September newsletter includes information on record books, the Recognition Event, and more. Check it out here: September 2014 Newsletter.

    State Fair Livestock Updates

    Attention State Fair Livestock Exhibitors:

    -If your heifer or steer is in a specific breed division/class that requires registration papers, YOU MUST bring the registration papers with you to check in. If you do not bring the registration papers at check in your animal will be moved to the commercial or crossbred division/class.

    -The State 4-H Office will be providing livestock exhibitors with back tagsthis year. Report to the State Fair 4-H Livestock T-Shirt Trailer when you get to the fairgrounds to pick up their back tag number. Safety pins will also be provided for exhibitors.

    -4-H Livestock Exhibitors may pick up their exhibitor t-shirt at the EBY Trailer located next to the Collegiate 4-H Snack Stand. State 4-H Livestock participants are also allowed to wear the 2013 State Fair 4-H Exhibitor T-shirts if they have them. The shirts will be the same again this year.

    -Exhibitors must go to the Livestock Complex Office when they arrive at State Fair to purchase a tack trailer permit if they want one.

    South Dakota State Dog Show Schedule


    2014 State Dog Show Schedule